Brymo Biography & Net Worth

Brymo with the birth name Olawale Ashimi is a famous Nigerian songwriter, singer and recording Artist. Brymo was born on the 9th of May, 1986 in Okokomaiko, Ojo, Lagos State, Nigeria as the only child of a father who was an Aworo carpenter and a mother who was an Egun petty trader. He attended  Ajanju Aka Primary school in Okokomaiko, Ojo, Lagos state for the early stage of his primary school education and later completed his primary education in Japual primary school also in Okokomaiko from 1990-1997. Brymo completed his secondary school education in Ajangbadi High school from 1997-2003. He went on to Lagos State University to study Zoology but dropped out after the first year to pursue his music career.  Brymo grew up very stubborn and troublesome,  this made him get into a lot of fights with the kids in his neighborhood. This article is about Brymo biography and other interesting facts about him.

Brymo Biography

Brymo wanted to go into football at first, but his love for music won over. He recorded his first song titled ‘Future’ when he was thirteen in 1999 while still in secondary school. Brymo formed a  music group with some of his friends in 2002. The music group was called ‘The Aliens.’ Brymo’s role in the group was to write and compose songs. He was able to write over 85 songs within two years. The group separated in 2005 due to some issues. After the division of the group, he went on a solo career under no record Label.

Brymo Biography
Brymo Biography

Music Career       –        Brymo Biography

Brymo released his debut album in 2007 which he titled ‘Brymstone’  with the assistance of a local talent spotter. He later released a single titled ‘Shawdy,’ its music video listed as number two on MTV Base Africa’s Top 10 Countdown, It peaked at number one on Nigezee’s top 10 and also got him a nomination at Sound City Music Video Awards.

Brymo met M.I Abaga through Denrele Edun who told M.I all about Brymo and caused them to respond.  After he met with M.I, he has introduced Jesse Jagz and Ice Prince. He came to the limelight when he was featured in Ice Prince’s hit single ‘Oleku’ which was part of his debut album ‘Everyone Loves Ice Prince’ in 2010. Brymo collaborated with Jesse Jagz in his single ‘Love You’ which was in Jesse Jagz’s debut album ‘ Jagz of All Trades’ released in 2011. He was also featured on other hit singles like ‘Attention’ by 2-Shotz, ‘Action Film’ by M.I and ‘Ma Wo Be’ by Sasha.

Brymo was signed into Chocolate City Record Label in 2010- the contract agreement was later broken in 2013. He released his second album ‘Son of a Kapenta’ in 2012 under Chocolate City Record Label. The hit singles in his second album are ‘Ara’ and ‘Good Morning.’ The music video for ‘Ara’ was released on the 31st of December, 2011, it was directed by AJE Film and produced by Legendary Beatz. Brymo revealed in an interview with Damete Braide of The Sun that ‘Ara’ is a slang that loosely translates to mean ‘Wonder.’ ‘Son of a Kapenta’ featured guest appearances from M.I, Jesse Jagz, Ice Prince and Pryse.

Brymo’s third album ‘Merchants, Dealers & Slaves’ was released on the 20th of October,  2013. This album got him a lot of positive reviews. This album was released when an interim injunction was filed against him from Chocolate City Record Label which restrained him from doing any music ventures outside of the Record Label. He signed a distribution deal with Spinlet in August 2014, which was to enable the company to distribute his album online but the deal was broken after Spinlet was made aware of the existing contract between Chocolate City Record Label and Brymo.

The album was later allowed to be distributed on the 20th of March,  2014, some days after the interim injunction was lifted in court. The album was produced by Mikky Me and David the Guitarist appeared in the record as a guest. The lead single which was ‘Down’ was released officially on October 1st, 2013 and its music video was uploaded to YouTube on the 30th of September, 2013. In May 2014, Nigerian Entertainment Today reported that the undergraduate students of Southern Illinois University,  Carbondale analyzed the lyrics of ‘Down’ as part of a case study project. He was invited to the case study’s presentation by the University.

‘Tabula Rasa’ his fourth album was released on the 3rd of October, 2014, the hit single being ‘Fe Mi’ which was released on the 18th of September, 2014. Brymo named the album Tabula Rasa after hearing the judge use it in his speech.  Brymo released an 8-Tracks compilation album the next year on the 8th of December,  2015. The 8-Tracks compilation was titled ‘Trance’ and was produced by American Record Label and publishing company ‘Tate Music Group.’ The album contained songs from his third and fourth album and was targeted primarily for the U.S audience.

His music is a combination of R&B, Fuji, Rock, and Pop. In an interview with Okay Africa in 2016, Brymo stated “Although my songs reflect many issues which are relevant in my society. I believe that human relations are the site where all issue emerge”.

Brymo Biography
Brymo Biography

Brymo Albums

  • Brymstone – 2007
  • TheSonofaKapenta -2012
  • Merchants, dealers, and Slaves
  • Tabula Rosa
  • Klitoris
  • Oso
  • Trance

Brymo Songs

  • Heya
  • Good morning
  • 1 Pound
  • Something Good is happening
  • Fe Mi
  • Alajo Somolu
  • Down
  • Je le O Sinmi
  • Billion Niaria Dream
  • Dem Dey Go
  • Waka Waka
  • Prick No get Shoulder
  • Happy Memories
  • Ba nu so
  • No, Be Me
  • Dear Child
  • God is in your Mind
  • Them, Dey Go
  • Omoge Campus
  • Eko
  • Nothing’s Ever Promised
  • Naked
  • Duro
  • Purple Jar
  • Truthfully
  • Do You Know Me
  • Olanrewaju
  • Grand Pa
  • Everyone Get’s to die
  • Mirage

Brymo Awards     –      Brymo Biography

  • He won the ‘Songwriter of the Year’ award for the song ‘Down’ at the 2013/2014 All Africa Music Awards.
  • He won the ‘Recording of the Year’ award for the song ‘Ara’ at the Hip Hop World Awards in 2012.
  • He won the ‘Most Gifted Afro Pop Video of the Year’ for ‘Ara’ at the Channel O Music Video Awards in 2012.

Brymo Son           –      Brymo Biography

Brymo has a son named Waju Ashimi, and he was born on the 27th of March, 2015.

Brymo Endorsements

He was announced as an Ambassador for the Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry at the unveiling that took place in Lagos State on the 14th of October, 2014. Other Ambassadors alongside Brymo were Olisa Adibua, 2face Idibia, Vector the Viper,  Kunle Afolayan and many others.

Brymo Biography
Brymo Biography

Brymo Net Worth 2021

Brymo is a Nigerian musician, songwriter and recording artist with an estimated net worth of $1.5 million.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also